Home > Culture clashes, Scandinavia > An honest introduction to an upcoming artist

An honest introduction to an upcoming artist

I recently dropped my Stockholm Key of Honor (a card I was given by the Stockholm Tourist Office to visit and write about the attractions in Stockholm and which gives me free access to all museums and cultural attractions in the city) on the street.

However, as I did not use the card for the past month, I did not even notice that it was missing until one Friday afternoon I received a call from someone called Nadja Ekman telling me she had picked it up on Kungsgatan – a busy city center street.  She had cleaned it up to reveal my name on the card, looked me up on Eniro (a Yellow Pages for Sweden) and called me to return my property.

This is not an isolated incident in Sweden – ok, I’m not saying that everybody in Stockholm is honest, but for sure, people are more honest than in your average capital city. There’s not many big cities where people are honest enough to return something found on a street belonging to a stranger, yet alone something which they could use for their own benefit and which had some monetary worth. And, Stockholm is no cozy village where everyone knows everyone – the area is home to over 1.8 million inhabitants and countless visitors during the summer.

Instead of picking up the phone to call me, Nadja could easily have enjoyed  access to Stockholm’s cultural delights free-of-charge for the rest of 2009, pretending to be me.

I dropped by Nadja’s gallery in Södermalm to pick up my card the next day and discovered she is an upcoming photographer and artist who has developed the Pictoglas method, together with a fellow artist Ewa Stackelberg.

Pictoglas is a patented technique for reproducing photoimagery in glass. Glass pigments are transferred and melted to become an integrated part of the glass structure, making the image imperishable and everlasting. A unique, and upcoming form of art, the Pictoglas method can be used in the art glass industry and as a building material in indoor and outdoor architecture.

Not only did I receive my cherished card back from an honest Swede, but I also discovered a whole new area of art I had never heard about before.

pictoglasMore information on Pictoglas at http://www.pictoglas.se

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

